Mind Your Facebook Manners

I read an article in the New York Times today about a woman who was fired because she made foul-mouthed Facebook comments about her supervisor.   Whether you agree or disagree with her dismissal, there’s a lesson about Facebook etiquette to be learned from this story.



The things people are willing to do and say on Facebook surprises me.  For instance, I’m friends with my staff on Facebook.  Sometimes they make status updates on Facebook during work hours.  This always ruffles my feathers just a little bit — why am I at my desk toiling away while they’re surfing the net?  GET TO WORK!

Too, I was hiring a new assistant earlier this year and received hundreds of resumes.  After sifting through them, one of the first things I did was Google each person I was potentially interested in.  I was able to instantly eliminate those candidates that had inappropriate Facebook profile pictures, status updates, or an addiction to Farmville.  When I had that many qualified candidates to choose from, why would I interview someone who lists their middle name as “Fuktheworld”?

While I fully understand that Facebook is meant to be a personal forum, a little common sense goes a long way.  You’re putting your life on the internet for all to see.  It’s silly to risk losing your job or a job opportunity over something as silly as a status update!

Leave a Reply

