Project Update: Change of Plans

I was feeling really uninspired and frustrated with my portfolio project and decided to go in a different direction.  After speaking with Kathy last week, I knew I wanted to do a blog that had something to do with working in the non-profit sector.  Finally, on my way home that night, it hit me like a ton of bricks — I should do a blog about helping others and giving back to the community. 

This new project is aptly called The Seattle Do-Gooder.  Here’s an update of the project plan and my progress:

Goals:
1.  Create a niche blog that passes along volunteer opportunities, information about local non-profits, and inspirational stories of other Do-Gooders who are creating positive change in our community.

2.  Connect with other bloggers in order to establish myself within the non-profit/do-gooder niche.

Timeline:

11/14/2010
Set up a WP account
Choose design
Update blog re: timeline
Welcome & Bio completed
Add links to related sites

11/21/2010
Make 1st and 2nd topic posts

11/28/2010
Make 3rd and 4th topic posts
Begin commenting on other blogs

12/5/2010
Make 5th and 6th topic posts
Continue commenting on other blogs

12/12/2010
Make 7th post
Continue commenting on other blogs
Decide whether or not to purchase domain

Measurable Outcomes:
1.  Increased WordPress knowledge and experience.
2.  Make 5-7 blog posts by the end of the quarter.
3.  Make at least one connection with blogger from same niche.

3 responses to “Project Update: Change of Plans

  1. Sounds like an awesome idea! Count me in as a reader.

  2. Pingback: week 7 – projects « Digital Communication Technologies

  3. Sounds great – I like the “DO-GOODER niche! Good luck with it! Marci

Leave a Reply

