Don’t Be a Twit, Get Twitter

In the few short months that I’ve been blogging, one thing has become abundantly clear to me – bloggers must use Twitter.  I was terribly reluctant to start a Twitter account, and now I can’t imagine blogging without one. 

First of all, Twitter drives traffic to your blog.  I have 400% more page views since opening my Twitter account.  This isn’t a fluke.  According to Technorati’s 2010 State of the Blogosphere, 88% of pro-bloggers are using Twitter to promote their sites and market their businesses.  Their survey found that Twitter takes the cake when it comes to driving traffic to blogs.  Here’s how other tactics compare:

The statistics gathered by Guy Kawasaki, author of The Macintosh Way and co-founder of Alltop.com, are convincing.  He experimented with re-Tweets and here’s what he found:  Every time he Tweeted, there was a surge of activity on his blog.  Here’s a look at his statistics:

Picture 8.jpg

Twitter also helps keep you informed of what’s happening in your niche.  It’s important to follow others who are interested in your topic (and hopefully they’ll follow you too).  When I first signed up for Twitter as part of The Seattle Do-Gooder blog, I began following the tweets of non-profits in the Seattle area.  Just by reading their feed, I was able to find information that I could use in my blog – upcoming volunteer opportunities or the recent Parka Party to raise funds for local food banks.

Technorati’s 2010 State of the Blogosphere touches on this as a beneffit of Twitter as well.  Over half of the bloggers surveyed, say they use Twitter “to understand what people are buzzing about” and “keep up with news events.”  Twitter is an easy way to have up-to-the-minute information about your field.

It’s true – I’ve gone from being a Twitterphobe to a Tweetaholic.  I really can’t say enough good things about it.  I highly recommend that you, as new bloggers, use this powerful social media tool as a way to connect with others who might be interested in reading your blog.  Twitter really is the bees knees.

Still feeling weary about starting a Twitter account?  Be sure to check out my blog post, Twitter for @Twitterphobes.  Happy Tweeting!

2 responses to “Don’t Be a Twit, Get Twitter

  1. Pingback: week 10 – how technology shapes the world « Digital Communication Technologies

  2. Pingback: week 10 – wednesday « Digital Communication Technologies

Leave a Reply

